Korean Neurosurgical Society


The Korean Neurosurgical Society aims to advance neurosurgery and to promote health by improving neurosurgical care, training and research through advancement of education and scientific exchange.

Founded in 1961, the KNS is a professional, scientific, non-governmental, and non-profit organization consists of comprising 11 subspecialty societies, 5 regional chapters, Society of Practicing Neurosurgeons, Women’s Neurosurgical Association, altogether representing 2,700 neurosurgeons in Korea. Two meetings are held annually, Spring Congress in April and Autumn Congress in October, to enhance health and improve lives by sharing their experience from standards to the state of the art in various clinical fields as well as research area in neurosurgery.


The Journal of Korean Neurosurgical Society


Journal of Korean Neurosurgical Society is the official journal of the Korean Neurosurgical Society, first published on October 31, 1972. The journal has been a significant route of publication of clinical and experimental research on neurosurgery and its related fields. As a monthly journal, Journal of Korean Neurosurgical Society that is written in English is accessible on-line (www.jkns.or.kr) and also distributed to more than 150 foreign medical institutions and related centers and libraries. It is currently indexed in SCIE, PubMed Central, PubMed, KoreaMed, EMBASE, CAS, KMbase, KERIS, KRF/KCl.


Brief History of the Korean Neurosurgical Society


1961 Korean Neurosurgical Society was established in Seoul
1963 First Korean Neurosurgical Board Examination
1965 KNS became a member society of AASNS and WFNS
1972 Journal of the Korean Neurosurgical Society was published
1989 Korean language “Textbook of Neurosurgery” was published
1991 8th AACNS was held in Seoul
1995 Korean Neurosurgical Research Foundation was established
2007 Seoul was selected as the host city for the 15th World Congress in 2013
2008 9th AOICSBS was held in Busan
2013 15th WFNS World Congress was held in Seoul
A. Sub-specialty Societies (established year)
Korean Society of Cerebrovascular Surgery (1986)
Korean Society of Pediatric Neurosurgery (1987)
Korean Spinal Neurosurgery Society (1987)
Korean Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery (1990)
Korean Brain Tumor Society (1991)
Korean Neuro-Traumatology Society (1993)
Korean Society of Intravascular Neurosurgery (1996)
Korean Society of Geriatric Neurosurgery (1997)
Korean Neurosurgical Pain Society (2001)
Korean Society of Neuro-Intensive Care (2008)
Korean Society of Neuro-Mapping and Monitoring (2010)
B. Regional Chapters (established year)
Busan-Ulsan-Geongnam Chapter (1964)
Daegu-Gyeongbuk Chapter (1975)
Honam Chapter (1982)
Seoul-Gyeonggi-Incheon Chapter (1991)
Daejeon-Chungcheong Chapter (1994)
C. Society of Practicing Neurosurgeons
D. Women’s Neurosurgical Association


KNS Member of Executive Committee


Position Name Affiliation
President of KNS Young Jin LIM Kyung-Hee University Hospital
President of KNS Congress Dong Ho KIM Chungbuk National University Hospital
President Elect of KNS/
International Relationship
Committee Chair
Jin Woo CHANG Yonsei University Severance Hospital
President Elect of
KNS Congress
Chang Hwa CHOI Pusan National University Hospital
Secretary General Jung Yul PARK Korea University Anam Hospital
Scientific Program Committee Chair Chang Wan OH Seoul National University Bundang Hospital
Board Certification Committee Chair Young Baeg KIM Chung-Ang University Hospital
Residency Review & Education
Committee Chair
Sin-Soo JEUN The Catholic University Seoul St. Mary Hospital
Planning Committee Chair Shin JUNG Chonnam National University Hospital
Treasurer Mou Seop LEE Chungbuk National University Hospital
Medical Insurance Committee Chair Yong KO Hanyang University Medical Center
Medical-Legal Committee Chair Gi Hwan CHOI Daegu Catholic University Medical Center
Bylaws and Ethics Committee Chair Sung Don KANG Wonkwang University Hospital
Public Relations Committee Chair Do Yle KOH Godoil Hospital
Membership Committee Chair Woo-Kyung KIM Gachon University Gil Hospital
Information & Technology
Committee Chair
Hyung Jin SHIN Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine
Policy Planning Committee Chair Hyeonseon PARK Inha University Hospital
Practicing Physicians Committee Chair Sei Hwan CHOI Seoul St. Mary’s Neurosurgical Clinic
Special Committee Chair Keun Su KIM Yonsei University Gangnam Severance Hospital
Sung Min KIM Kyung Hee University Hospital at Gangdong
Se-Hyuk KIM Ajou University Hospital
Sung Woo ROH Asan Medical Center
In Sung PARK Gyeongsang National University Hospital
Jhin Soo PYEN Wonju Severance Christian Hospital
Jin-Young YOUM Chungnam National University Hospital
Il Tae JANG Nanoori Hospital
Seung Heon CHA Pusan National University Hospital
Ha-Young CHOI Chonbuk National University Medical Center
Jeong-Hyun HWANG Kyungpook National University Hospital
Editor of JKNS Chang Taek MOON Konkuk University Medical Center
Historian Young Bae LEE Dongguk University Gyeongju Hospital
Publications Committee Chair Bum-Tae KIM Soonchunhyang University Buchenon Hospital